.

OPINION: Wind, Solar Can't Replace 24-7 San Onofre Nuke Plant

Southern California Edison in its video outlines why San Onofre Nuclear Generating Station is vital to the Southern California Grid.

Southern California Edison in its video argues that its San Onofre Nuclear Generating Station, now shuttered for a year because of deep-running technical problems with its steam generators, is vital for the Southern California power grid.

Because the plant, when operating, provides thousands of megawatts of power at a steady rate 24 hours a day, seven days a week, it can't be replaced by renewable power sources like wind and solar energy, officials say.

Frank H. Robles February 22, 2013 at 01:17 AM
Yes they are right, for the amount of space that San'O takes up, it cannot be replaced with any wind or solar power plant. We need that plant back on the Grid or we will be buying Power from Mexico this year, who are still burning High Sulfer Coal...!!!
met00 February 22, 2013 at 06:46 AM
For the amount of money that Edison has poured into that time bomb since the shutdown it could have started to add solar to every house in Southern California and been able to recover TONS of KwH. But their goal is to keep a limping disaster waiting to happen rolling along rather than invest in clean power. Why? Because every home that they would cover would cost them income, and it's all about profits.
Gary Headrick February 22, 2013 at 04:24 PM
They have these things called batteries, and with a little more investment in that direction I believe this is more within the grasp of humans than spitting atoms. I hope people will see this video as one last desperate attempt to mislead the public for greedy self interest instead of what is best for all.
Gary Headrick February 22, 2013 at 04:36 PM
Here is a video about San Onofre that is worth watching. It is an animation that clearly explains the technical side of the issue created by Ace Hoffman. http://www.acehoffman.blogspot.com/2013/02/new-animation-shows-what-could-happen.html
Thomas Lincoln February 22, 2013 at 06:04 PM
What would you do when the sun is not out?
Frank H. Robles February 22, 2013 at 10:01 PM
Sorry Gary, could not upload the video, did read some good points on the web site. But at this time we to have on demand power, which San'O can provide. I for fact the Edsion is working on creating some type of Power Storage , to store the the Wind and Solar Power created. It not able yet to meet current demands. We San'O to provide that on Demand Power, or we will be facing rolling blackouts...!!!
met00 February 22, 2013 at 10:15 PM
Let me see if I understand the question. Today and throughout last summer Edison "bought" power from other locations and charged the customers for it. There were no rolling blackouts or brownouts. The proposal is putting more $'s into solar rather than a nuke plant that has so many deficiencies that it's bound to fail and land us back here again. Now your concern is that at some points Edison MAY have to import power because the solar grid is only delivering 80% rather than 100% because of cloud cover? You do understand that Edison will be able to offset the costs of buying that power when they sell their excess power to the grid when the sun is out... and that the buyback will be offsets to the "push" that happens when others need power from Edison because we are generating so much? That the upside of investing in clean is that while it won't be at 100% all the time, it will be over-generating (more than our needs) and that is an opportunity to sell that power to those places that need it when we are over-generating, and buy back their power when their demand is lower... So, at 5PM in CT we sell them our oversupply until 8PM (high power use) and then at 8PM they have an oversupply and sell their oversupply back to us. And that's how the grid works....
Libi Uremovic February 22, 2013 at 10:39 PM
'...now shuttered for a year ...it can't be replaced by renewable power sources like wind and solar...' cali has wind, sun, and water ...we don't need nuclear energy in our state... asia will not return to nuclear power after their tsunami disaster.... they will develop renewable technology while the states fall further behind the global competition because we can't get past our partisan divisions...
Libi Uremovic February 22, 2013 at 10:46 PM
'...What would you do when the sun is not out?...' i knew a family that had one solar panel on their house in santa cruz - which is overcast 300 days/year...and they still sold power back to the utility company... renewable energies is a conservative stance...the individual home owner generating their own energy is a conservative and libertarian stance... the more self-efficient the individual citizen is the better off we are as a nation...
Libi Uremovic February 22, 2013 at 10:48 PM
has there been any rolling blackouts on the west coast that weren't industry driven..??
Jim Richert March 04, 2013 at 09:55 PM
Japan's government announced last week that they will be re-starting their nuclear plants. So much for renewable energy.
Laguna Streets April 06, 2013 at 10:30 PM
Nuclear energy looks great in a spreadsheet, millions of eV per gram. Along came the atomic age and parents were buying glow-in-the-dark toys for their kids. Edison did an admirable job generating safe electrical energy for the grid over 40 years - until the end-of-life for this reactor. Today we are stuck with nuclear waste, no re-processing facilities, escalating costs of re-furbishment, proliferation of nuke materials, and all the political fall-out of a by-gone era. Let's decommission this reactor and get-on with de-centralized power generation from renewables.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something